texas pecan orchard


Pecan Research




Section One---The name of this Association shall be the Texas Pecan Growers Association.

Section Two---The purpose of this Association shall be to encourage pecan culture and promote the best interest of the pecan growers of the State of Texas.

Section Three---The Officers of this Association shall be President, Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer, and eight District Directors, and one or two Directors positions made up of past Presidents. The President, Vice President, and Secretary-Treasurer shall be ex-officio members of the Board of Directors. The President shall be Chairman of the Board of Directors. The Vice President shall succeed to the Presidency and the President shall become a member of the Board of Directors for a two-year term immediately upon retiring from the Presidency.

Section Four---All of the Officers and members of the Board of Directors of this Association shall be elected by a majority at the meeting of the Association. The Officers shall hold office for a period of one year from and after their election, and until their successors is elected and qualified. The Directors shall hold their offices for two years, the terms of four of the eight terminating annually.

Section Five---The date of the annual meeting of the Association shall be the second Tuesday in July of each year, provided, however, that in case of occurrence of some event which in the opinion of the Board of Directors would make it inadvisable to hold the annual meeting of the Association on such date, the Board of Directors are hereby authorized to fix a different date for the holding of said annual meeting for such year which shall not be later than the Second Tuesday in August of said year.

Section Six---Each year the new president shall appoint a Location Committee of three members from the district that will be host to the convention two years hence. This committe should investigate and recommend one or two locations for the convention to be held in their district. They shall make their report to the annual convention one year prior to the meeting in their district. The annual convention hearing the Location Committee report will determine the location of the next annual convention by majority vote of the members of the Association present and voting at the meeting, providing only that each meeting shall be held successively in one of the four districts designated on the Official Texas Map of the Association. The place of meeting in 1928 shall be District 1.

Section Seven---The duties of the Officers and Board of Directors of this Association shall be such as usually devolve upon such Officers and Directors of similar associations.

Section Eight---The annual dues to be paid to this Association by its regular members shall be $5.00. Dues paid by professional agricultural workers employed by Federal, State, or Local Governments in research, extension, or teaching shall be one-half of the regular membership dues for the respective years. Contributing membership dues shall be twice the regular membership dues. Sustaining membership dues shall be $25.00 or more per year. Contributing and Sustaining membership is made available to those who would like to financially assist the Association in a larger way.

 Section Nine---The Association may, upon the nomination of an annually appointed awards committee, bestow the following awards upon members:

(1) Life membership and scroll with appropriate inscription to a member that has contributed distinguished service in the encouragement and promotion of pecan culture.

(2) Scroll with appropriate inscription to each out-going president.

(3) Medals to those who have made a definite outstanding technical contribution to the pecan industry.

(4) Plaques to the Grand Champion winners of the State Pecan Show.

Section Ten---This constitution may be amended by the vote of two-thirds of the members present and voting at any annual meeting, provided however, that any proposed amendment shall be in writing and signed by at least three members and introduced and read at one regular session of said annual meeting and shall not be voted upon until a subsequent regular session of such annual meeting.

Section Eleven---The President at each meeting shall name a Nominating Committee of five who shall recommend suitable persons to fill all offices for the ensuing year, but additional nominations to all offices may be made from the floor.

Section Twelve---The President shall be authorized to appoint any committees that he may deem necessary.




Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods